Dog Biscuits!

I say that in the nicest terms! In fact, I love to make homemade dog biscuits for my two favorite furry friends, Amber and Alex!

IMG_0282

This week, I wanted to share one of their favorite recipes. It is easy, simple, and requires very few ingredients! The dough is also very easy to handle and you may even be able to get your kids in on the fun of shaping these little treats.

Resize 2

This recipe comes from a book I found at Half Priced Books for $2 bucks! The book is t itled, “Throw Me A Bone: 50 Healthy, Canine Taste-Tested Recipes for Snacks, Meals, and Treats” and is by Sally Sampson (2003). So all recipe credits go to her!

Breath-Sweetening Biscuits

Ingredients:
3-cups unbleached all purpose four (can use white or whole wheat)
1-tbs. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 cup vegetable shortening
1 cup buttermilk or low-fat yogurt
1 tbs. honey
1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian flat-leaf parsley or mint leaves

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Put flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a food processor. In my version of the recipe, I used two parts white flour and one part wheat because I like the texture and color that comes out. At this point, mix on low to combine. I also decided to use dried mint out of my garden and added it to the processor at this point to help grid it to mint dust! If you are planning on using fresh mint save it until later. Oh and I always use more than 1/4 cup of mint…I mean the fresher the better right?!?

Resize 3

Next add the 1/2 cup of shortening little by little while the processor is mixing. You will get something that resembles cornmeal. Then add the cornmeal mixture to a large bowl and add the buttermilk, honey, and your choice of herbs. I decided to use yogurt because I often waste the buttermilk. I did not notice a difference!

Resize 4
Remember I added my mint to the food processor so it is already in the bowl!

I also decided to add some green food coloring to the mix but I did not do a very good job of mixing it in. This is where the fun begins! Mix everything by hand and then divide the dough into 24 pieces. You can shape them however you want but we warned they puff up really big! Bake them on a parchment lined sheet for 12-15 min. or until golden brown. Serve at room temp. so as not to burn any puppy tongues!Resize 5

I like to make these biscuits to help my dogs with their stinky breath. After two biscuits they are able to give oh-so-sweet kisses! Store them in the freezer otherwise they mold quickly. You can also serve them frozen, my pups do not seem to mind!

Resize 6
Amber was not happy with the amount of pictures I took to get this! But she waited the whole time!

It was pretty tough to cook and take pictures at the same time! I do not know how the food bloggers make it look so easy. I am not sure if I will do another one of these. What do you think? Are you interested in a couple more recipes? I really like to try out a lot of the ones I find on Pinterest. Some are hits and some are misses! Let me know if you made some of these and share your results via Instagram and tag me @cassielorentson. 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me why! Email not required**

