Get Up and Get Out!

For a total of 912 days, 21,888 hours, and countless minutes my couch and I have gotten to know each other on a very intimate level. We cried together, got frustrated together, shifted through pages of data, and put 130 pages together that earned me a Master’s degree. I put myself on the back-burner in those two and a half years I was in grad school. Well, actually, I put myself on this couch! From the moment I came home from work at 5 p.m. it was me and this couch until 10 p.m. Then on the weekends we were together from sun-up to sun-down.

Couch big

That is why I was struck by Lianne Mattheney’s post, “gather no moss.” The post is about finding the courage to get out and enjoy life after you are retired and your kids are all grownup. It is funny that I was drawn to her post because I feel like my life has just begun now that I am done with graduate school. Yet, I feel so tired, run-down, and old. After the amount of time I spent collecting dust I have yet to shake off the cobwebs and get back to enjoying what life has to offer.

My new full-time job requires a lot of me, I work more than 40 hours a week, some nights, and weekends, with travel days thrown in the mix. So on the weekends I come back to this trusty couch and gather moss. The last section in her post really spoke to me…

It’s easy to sit on the couch and dream [….] The world awaits you!  Life awaits you! [….] Taking back our lives, making ourselves the priority, deciding we deserve to have fun, to be people in our own right, this is how we create our own sense of belonging, not to our past lives but to ourselves.  Gather no moss. Be alive.  Go ahead, I give you permission.

Well enough is enough! It is time to get up and get out! I cannot wait for my life to pass me by before I take the time to enjoy it! This memorial day weekend my husband and I did a lot of fun things including some updates to our home, spent some time in the garden, played with my new camera, and smoked some ribs! Yes, we did spend some time on the couch but we are making progress.

Smoker 1
There are four different flavors going on in here!

So my dear readers, go back to Lianne’s quote and use it to add some motivation to go out and do something exciting today!

I also wanted to send a special shout-out to any grad students out there, take a moment for you! Your work will still be there when you get back. 🙂

Like what you read? Tell me why! Email not required**

