A Letter to Seoul

Feature

Dear Seoul,

It has been 10 days since I have come back home to Texas and I felt that it was necessary for me to write you a thank you letter. Not only did you help open my eyes to another culture but you helped me become more aware of the things I have taken for granted. There are several amazing things that stand out about you and I just wanted to take the time to point them out.

Your Breathtaking Views and Rich History

I wanted to first thank you for your beautiful scenery and rich history. The entire time I was in Korea, I could not help staring in wonder at all the green surrounding me. In fact, exploring Namsan Trail was my favorite! I kept discovering new things around every turn of the trail.

Letter to Seoul Green

At times the scenery was so beautiful I was at a loss for words. Not only is Seoul gorgeous but your history is long and rich. While visiting I learned about the creation of Hangul, your hard years of authoritarian rule, and your fight for democratic freedom. I am still in awe of the fact that the June Democratic movement took place in the 80’s.

Your Delicious Food

I would also like to thank you for all the wonderful food! While visiting I had the pleasure of eating so many new and exciting dishes! From molten hot sundubu jjigae to the humble kimbap, I never went hungry!

Food

In fact, I do not know how I will live the rest of my life without bingsu (If you do not know what bingsu is you need to get on a plane and go to Korea NOW! Or you can drool over the chocolate wonder pictured above.) or being able to get a lovingly prepared meal for less than 5 dollars.

Helping Me to Rethink My LifeĀ 

Finally, I want to thank you for helping me to be grateful for all the little things I have taken for granted. While I was away I became acutely aware of how much I love my life in Corpus Christi, Texas. While Seoul could take my breath away, I realized that my heart belonged back at home. Nothing can replace the happiness I feel when I am sitting in my backyard looking at the stars. Nor can anything replace the happiness I feel when I am with my husband and family. This feeling of content is all thanks to the time I spent abroad and I wanted to say thank you Seoul!

Love Lots,

Cassie

Back together with my husband and furry children!

P.S. I am totally coming to visit again soon!

Like what you read? Tell me why! Email not required**

