Number 38. I Prostrate in Repentence…

For having thought that only what I saw was correct…39. I prostrate in repentence for having thought only what I heard was correct…45. I prostrate in repentence for having disregarded our only home, earth…70. I prostrate in gratitude for coming to hear the pure beauty of the bird’s singing…85. I prostrate as a vow to refrain from anger..88. I prostrate as a vow from saying hurtful things…96. I prostrate as a vow to be positive in everything I do…108. I prostrate as a vow to transfer all merits accumulated through compassionate action to all beings in the ten directions. 

I am dripping sweat and my legs are shaking as I stand in the Buddha hall at Geumnesa Temple. I have just completed 108 full prostrations and these were the sentences that meant the most to me. I will definitely try to remember them.

The prostrations represent the 108 delusions of the mind Buddha tought to the people and the bows are meant to clear the mind.

 A new day has started at the temple and I wonder what else I will learn. Has anyone else ever completed the 108 bows? What did it mean to you?

Like what you read? Tell me why! Email not required**

